Yenebi's Drive to School - Sendy Santamaria

Price : د.إ85.00

1 in stock

5 to 8 years old
Condition : very good

Add to wishlist Adding to wishlist Added to wishlist

Dreamers meets School's First Day of School in this vibrant story that puts a whole new spin on one loving family's morning drive to school.Every morning, I'm up at four o'clock.I brush my teeth, get dressed, and drag my sister Melanie to the car where Mami's waiting for us.¡Se nos va hacer tarde! ¡Apurarse!For the next two hours, we'll be in the car driving—past tamale vendors (my favorite part), through la linea (my least favorite part), and across the US border. That's how we get to school every day. This is our normal. ¡Vamos!In a winning voice and a bright palette, debut author-illustrator Sendy Santamaria tells the story of one girl's commute—a commute Sendy herself made growing up as an American citizen living in Mexico. Yenebi's Drive to School takes readers on a trip to school that many will recognize as very similar to their own.INSPIRED BY A TRUE STORY: By celebrating the daily details of a child's commute to school that reflects the author's experience, this universal and inviting picture book is truly a mirror, a window, and a door. TIMELY TOPIC: An accessible approach to a serious (and seriously underdocumented) part of American life for many young readers. Teachers, librarians, and parents will appreciate the way this book blends the importance of current events in an easily understandable narrative that kids will enjoy following along with. FAMILY-CENTRIC: The journey described in this story—a loving family's daily trip to school—is timeless and relatable, yet wonderfully specific. UNIQUE EXPERIENCES: Like Last Stop on Market Street, this book leans into the narrator (and creator)'s very particular experience and yet makes the individuality of such an experience highly relatable, communicating to readers that even their most personal routines are part of what connects them with all humans. Young readers who take the bus to school or get driven a few blocks by their parents will see what makes them similar to kids like the author, even if the shape of their routines are different. FRESH APPROACH TO A CLASSIC TOPIC: The author turns the "back to school" trope on its head by making the book all about the trip, rather than focusing on apprehension or excitement about school itself. Perfect for:Teachers and librarians looking for picture books by Latinx creatorsParents looking for bilingual content and bicultural kids' booksKids who want to read about experiences different than their ownFans of Dreamers, Our Class is a Family, and The Name Jar

Written by

Sendy Santamaria

Edited by

Chronicle Books

Nb of pages

40

Book type

Hardcover

Language

English

From...

5 years old

Age Range

5 to 8 years old

Condition

very good

ISBN

9781797217833